Awards (Click on Name of Award for more Information)

Senator Peter B. Boorsma Award (International)

Chair: James Douglas (NC) jwdougla@uncc.edu
Allen Rosenbaum (ASPA International Director)
Ludmila Gajdosova

Morris W. H. Collins Award (Doctoral Student Paper)

Chair: Kathleen Hale (Al) halekat@auburn.edu
Eddie French (MS)
Mark Bradbury (NC)

Robert L. Kline Award (Masters’ Student Paper)

Chair: John Topinka (TN) jptpinka@memphis.edu
Stephanie Bellar (AR)
Linda McNish (NC)

Donato J. Pugliese Award (Service to SECoPA)

Chair: Jo Ann Ewalt (SC) ewaltg@cofc.edu
Jared Llorens (LA)
Earle Klay (FL)

Kathryn E. Hensley Distinguished Public Service Practitioner Award

Chair: Bill Solomon (FL) Kingsol@bellsouth.net
Anne Osborne Kilpatrick (SC)
Shiri Anderson (TN)

Communications/Marketing

Chair: Casey Seidman (FL) casey.seidman@nova.edu
Roslyn Alic-Batson (FL) alicbatson1@gmail.com
Kenneth Hunter (NC) kenneth.hunter@rockymountnc.gov
Matthew L. Howell (KY) matthew.howell@eku.edu
Dan Lasseter (GA) danl@uga.edu

Endowment

Chair: Anne Osborne Kilpatrick (SC) kilpatao@musc.edu
Kathy Hensley (SC) kathrynhensley@hotmail.com
Ed Jennings (KY) ed.jennings@uky.edu
Alessandra Jerolleman (LA) agazzo@gmail.com
Wes Meares (GA) wmeares@augusta.edu

Finance (Click Here for Policies)

Chair: Will Hatcher (GA) wihatcher@gru.edu
Gary Rassell (NC) grassel@uncc.edu
Ines Beecher (FL) nesibeech@hotmail.com
Kathy Hensley (SC) kathrynhensley@hotmail.com

Nominations and Elections

Chair: John Kiefer (LA) jkiefer@uno.edu
Claire Knox (FL) claire.knox@ucf.edu
Eddie French (MS) efrench@pspa.msstate.edu

Bylaws/Procedures

Chair: Shannon Vaughan (KY) Shannon.Vanughan@wku.edu
Kathy Hensley (SC) kathrynhensley@hotmail.com
Sandy RIbando (GA) sribando@augusta.edu
Meg Streams (TN) mstreams@tnstate.edu

Site Selection

Click Here for Conference Guidelines

Click Here for Conference Management & Oversight Guide

Chair: Suzanne Leland (NC) smleland@uncc.edu
Jerrell Coggburn (NC) jcoggburn@ncsu.edu
Calvin Sims (GA) cesims@bellsouth.net

2017 Conference Committee

Chair: Glenn Joseph (FL) glennjoseph5@gmail.com
Program Chair: Agathan Caraballo (FL) acarabal@fiu.edu
Program Chair: Roslin-Alic Batson (FL) alicbatson1@gmail.com

Conference Chair Transition Task Force

Chair: Tom Barth (NC) tbarth1@uncc.edu
Jerrell Coggburn (NC) jcoggburn@ncsu.edu
John Kiefer (LA) jkiefer@uno.edu

Policy Advocacy Task Force

Chair: Calvin Sims (GA) cesims@bellsouth.net
Terry Murphy (FL) terrymurphy06@gmail.com
Joy Clay (TN) joyclay@memphis.edu
Sheri Empeno (CA) sempeno@yahoo.com
Glenn Jopseh (FL) matthew.howell@eku.edu
Matthew Howell (KY) sempeno@yahoo.com

 

 

Nominations Committee Guidelines and Procedures

Membership:
The nominations committee generally consists of three people appointed by theSECoPA chair, two of whom are usually on the Board of Directors or former members of the Board. The third member is an at-large member of SECoPA.  The committee chair should be a current or former SECoPA Board member.

Committee Chair:
The committee chair is responsible for having a clear understanding of which board or officer slots are vacant in the upcoming year.  The Board consists of 12 members, with 4 Officers.  Every year, the Chair-Elect will be a vacant position that must be filled, along with the 4 second year board slots (terms are two years, and board members generally rotate off the board after their second year), and any officer slots that are announced as vacant in the previous year.

Nominations:
The committee chair should ask the nominations committee and the Board of Directors for recommendations for the Board vacancies.  When considering nominees, the committee should seek to provide a broad representation of the geographical states that are members of SECoPA, as well as a mix of diverse individuals that would strengthen and provide efficient service to the organization.

Prior to contacting the slate of selected nominees, the committee chair should obtain a consensus from the nominations committee, and consult with the Chair, past Chair and incoming Chair.

Once a consensus is obtained, the committee chair can contact the nominees by either email or telephone to request that they serve on the Board.  A “slate” should be completed and provided to the entire Board of Directors prior to the annual meeting.

The committee chair should also be sure to invite “new” board members to the “new board” meeting, which is held at the annual meeting.

Other nominees should be included in a list that is sent to the Chair in order to include them in other SECoPA committee assignments.  This is a great idea for newer members of SECoPA in order to introduce them to the organization and to enable them to get involved.

(Approved by SECoPA Board October 5, 2005)